- skip - Brewer’s

Seven Bibles (The) or Sacred Books


(1) The Bible of Christians. (Canon completed A.D. 494; Old Testament as we have it, B.C. 130.)

(2) The Eddas of the Scandinavians.

(3) The Five Kings of the Chinese. “King” here means web-of-cloth on which they were originally written.

(4) The Koran of the Mohammedans. (Seventh century, A.D.)

(5) The Tri Pitikes of the Buddhists. (Sixth century B.C.)

(6) The Three Vedas of the Hindûs. (Twelfth century B.C.)

(7) Zendavesta of the Persians. (Twelfth century B.C.)

previous entry · index · next entry


Entry taken from Dictionary of Phrase and Fable, edited by the Rev. E. Cobham Brewer, LL.D. and revised in 1895.

previous entry · index · next entry

Setting a Hen
Setting a Saw
Setting of a Jewel
Setting of Plaster or Paint
Setting of Sun, Moon, and Stars
Setting the Thames on Fire
Settie your Hash (To)
Seven Bibles (The) or Sacred Books
Seven Bodies in Alchemy
Seven Champions of Christendom
Seven Churches of Asia
Seven Deadly Sins (The)
Seven Dials (London)
Seven Joys of the Virgin
Seven Sages of Greece
Seven Senses
Seven Sisters
Seven Sleepers