Oldenburg, a German grand-duchy, embracing these three territories: 1, Oldenburg proper, the largest, is let into Hanover with its northern limit on the North Sea; it is a tract of moorland, sand-down, and fen, watered by the Weser, Hunte and tributaries of the Ems; here is the capital, Oldenburg (22), on the Hunte, 30 m. NW. of Bremen, in the midst of meadows, where a famous breed of horses is raised. 2, Lübeck, lying in Holstein, N. of but not including the city of Lübeck. 3, Birkenfeldt, lying among the Hundsrück Mountains, in the S. of Rhenish Prussia; independent since 1180, Danish 1667-1773, Oldenburg acquired Lübeck in 1803, and Birkenfeldt in 1815, when it was raised to the rank of grand-duchy.

Population (circa 1900) given as 355,000.

Definition taken from The Nuttall Encyclopædia, edited by the Reverend James Wood (1907)

Oldcastle, Sir John * Oldham
[wait for the fun]
Olbers, Heinrich
Old Bailey
Old Catholics
Old Man of the Mountain
Old Man of the Sea
Old Mortality
Old Noll
Oldbuck, Jonathan
Oldcastle, Sir John
Oldys, William
Olga, St.
Olifaunt, Nigel
Oliphant, Laurence
Oliphant, Mrs. Margaret
Olivarez, Count d'
Olives, Mount of


Links here from Chalmers

A Lasco, John
Boyle, Robert
Croune, William
Flamsteed, John
Gregory, James
Hamelmanne, Herman
Hanneken, Memnon
Hooke, Robert
Leibnitz, Godfrey William De
Lubin, Eilhard
[showing first 10 entries of 15]