Boniface, the name of nine Popes. B. I., pope from 418 to 422, assumed the title of First Bishop of Christendom; B. II., pope from 530 to 532; B. III., pope for 10 months, from 607 to 608; B. IV., pope from 608 to 614; B. V., pope from 617 to 625; B. VI., pope in 896; B. VII., pope from 974 to 985; B. VIII., pope from 1294 to 1303, a strenuous assertor of the papal supremacy over all princes, and a cause of much turmoil in Europe, provoked a war with Philip the Fair of France, who arrested him at Anagni, and though liberated by the citizens died on his way to Rome; B. IX., pope from 1389 to 1405, the first pope to wear the Triple Crown.

Definition taken from The Nuttall Encyclopædia, edited by the Reverend James Wood (1907)

Bonhomme, Jacques * Boniface, St.
[wait for the fun]
Bonar, Horatius
Bonaventura, St.
Bonchamp, Charles, Marquis de
Bond, William
Bone, Henry
Boner, Ulrich
Bonheur, Rosa
Bonhomme, Jacques
Boniface, St.
Bonington, Richard
Bonivard, François de
Bonnat, Joseph Leon
Bonner, Edmund
Bonnet, Charles de
Bonneval, Claude-Alexandre, Comte de


Boniface in Brewer’s Dictionary of Phrase & Fable