Roxburghshire, in Border pastoral county of Scotland, between Berwick (NE.) and Dumfries (SW.); the Cheviots form its southern boundary; lies almost wholly within the basin of the Tweed, which winds along its northern border, receiving the Teviot, Jed, &c.; includes the fine pastoral districts of Teviotdale and Liddesdale, where vast flocks of sheep are reared; agriculture and woollen manufactures are important industries; Hawick is the largest town, and Jedburgh the county town; near Kelso stood the royal castle and town of Roxburgh, which gave its name to the county, destroyed in 1460.

Population (circa 1900) given as 54,000.

Definition taken from The Nuttall Encyclopædia, edited by the Reverend James Wood (1907)

Rowton Heath * Royal Academy of Arts
[wait for the fun]
Rous, Francis
Rousseau, Jean Baptiste
Rousseau, Jean Jacques
Rousseau, Pierre Étienne Théodore
Row, John
Rowe, Nicholas
Rowlandson, Thomas
Rowley Regis
Rowton Heath
Royal Academy of Arts
Royal Society of Edinburgh, The
Royal Society of London
Royer-Collard, Pierre Paul
Rubens, Peter Paul
Rubinstein, Anton


Antique pictures of Roxburghshire

Links here from Chalmers

Armstrong, John
Buchan, William
Eliott, George Augustus
Home, John