Seven Wise Masters

Seven Wise Masters, the title of a famous cycle of mediæval tales which centre round the story of a young prince who, after baffling all efforts of former tutors, is at last, at the age of 20, instructed in all knowledge by Sindibad, one of the king's wise men, but having cast his horoscope Sindibad perceives the prince will die unless, after presentation at the court, he keeps silence for seven days; one of the king's wives, having in vain attempted to seduce the young man, in baffled rage accuses him to the king with tempting her virtue, and procures his death-sentence; the seven sages delay the execution by beguiling the king with stories till the seven days are passed, when the prince speaks and reveals the plot; an extraordinary number of variants exist in Eastern and Western languages, the earliest written version being an Arabian text of the 10th century: a great mass of literature has grown round the subject, which is one of the most perplexing as well as interesting problems of storiology.

Definition taken from The Nuttall Encyclopædia, edited by the Reverend James Wood (1907)

Seven Sleepers * Seven Wonders of the World
[wait for the fun]
Servius Tullius
Settle, Elkanah
Seven Champions of Christendom
Seven Deadly Sins
Seven Dolours of the Virgin
Seven Sages of Greece
Seven Sleepers
Seven Wise Masters
Seven Wonders of the World
Seven Years' War
Severus, L. Septimius
Sévigné, Madame de
Sèvres, Deux-
Seward, Anna
Seward, William Henry