- skip - Brewer’s

City of the Seven Hills (The)


Rome, built on seven hills (Urbs septacollis). The hills are the Aventine, Cælian, Capitŏline, Esquiline, Palătine, Quirĭnal, and Viminal.

The Aventine Hill was given to the people. It was deemed unlucky, because here Remus was slain. It was also called “Collis Dianæ,” from the Temple of Diana which stood there.

The CÆlian Hill was given to Cælius Vibenna, the Tuscan, who came to the help of the Romans in the Sabine war.

The Capitoline Hill or “Mons Tarpeius,” also called “Mons Saturni,” on which stood the great castle or capitol of Rome. It contained the Temple of Jupiter Capitolinus.

The Esquiline Hill was given by Augustus to Mecænas, who built thereon a magnificent mansion.

The Palatine Hill was the largest of the seven. Here Romulus held his court, whence the word “palace” (palatium).

The Quirinal Hill was where the Quirés or Curês settled. It was also called “Cabalinus,” from two marble statues of a horse, one of which was the work of Phidias, the other of Praxitělēs.

The Viminal Hill was so called from the number of osiers (vimines) which grew there. It contained the Temple of Jupiter Viminālis.

previous entry · index · next entry


Entry taken from Dictionary of Phrase and Fable, edited by the Rev. E. Cobham Brewer, LL.D. and revised in 1895.

previous entry · index · next entry

City of Bells (The)
City of David (The)
City of Destruction (The)
City of God (The)
City of Lanterns (The)
City of Palaces (The)
City of Refuge (The)
City of St. Michael (The)
City of Saints
City of the Great King (The)—i.e
City of the Seven Hills (The)
City of the Sun (The)
City of the Violet Crown
Civic Crown
Civil List
Civil Magistrate (A)
Civil Service Estimates (The)
Civil War
Civis Romanus Sum
Civitas Solis
Clabber Napper’s Hole

See Also:

City of the Seven Hills