Hawaiian Islands

Hawaiian Islands (named by Cook the Sandwich Islands) (90), a group of volcanic islands, 12 in number, situated in the North Pacific; total area somewhat larger than Yorkshire. Of the five inhabited islands Hawaii is the largest; it contains the famous volcano, Kilauea, whose crater is one of the world's wonders, being 9 m. in circumference, and filled with a glowing lake of molten lava which ebbs and flows like an ocean tide. The island of Maui has the largest crater on the earth. The climate of the group is excellent, and vegetation (including forests) is abundant; sugar and rice are the chief crops. Honolulu (on Oahu), with a splendid harbour, is the capital. The islands are now under the jurisdiction of the United States.

Definition taken from The Nuttall Encyclopædia, edited by the Reverend James Wood (1907)

Havre, Le * Hawarden
[wait for the fun]
Haussman, George Eugène
Haüy, René Just
Havelock, Sir Henry
Havergal, Frances Ridley
Haversian Canals
Havre, Le
Hawaiian Islands
Haweis, Hugh Reginald
Hawes, Stephen
Hawk-eye State
Hawke, Lord
Hawker, Robert Stephen
Hawkesworth, John
Hawkins, Sir John
Hawkins, Sir John