- skip - Brewer’s



As the Virgin, she is represented in Christian art with flowing hair, emblematical of her virginity.

As Mater Dolorosa, she is represented as somewhat elderly, clad in mourning, head draped, and weeping over the dead body of Christ.

As Our Lady of Dolours, she is represented as seated, her breast being pierced with seven swords, emblematic of her seven sorrows.

As Our Lady of Mercy, she is represented with arms extended, spreading out her mantle, and gathering sinners beneath it.

As The glorified Madonna, she is represented as bearing a crown and sceptre, or a ball and cross, in rich robes and surrounded by angels.

Her seven joys. The Annunciation, Visitation, Nativity, Adoration of the Magi, Presentation in the Temple, Finding Christ amongst the Doctors, and the Assumption.

Her seven sorrows. Simeon’s Prophecy, the Flight into Egypt, Christ Missed, the Betrayal, the Crucifixion, the Taking Down from the Cross, and the Ascension, when she was left alone.

previous entry · index · next entry


Entry taken from Dictionary of Phrase and Fable, edited by the Rev. E. Cobham Brewer, LL.D. and revised in 1895.

previous entry · index · next entry

Martin Drunk
Martin of Bullions (St.)
Martin’s Running Footman (St.)
Martin’s Summer (St.)
Martyr (Greek
Marvedie (A)
Mary Anne or Marianne
Mary Anne Associations
Mary Magdalene (St.)
Mary Queen of Scots
Marygold or Marigold

Linking here:

Dying Sayings
Kings, etc., of England
Seven Joys of the Virgin
Seven Sorrows of the Virgin